Why Marcos Alonso’s Superb Goal For Chelsea Was Ruled Out Against Real Madrid

Chelsea delivered their greatest performance in the second leg against Real Madrid tonight, as they battled back from a 3-1 aggregate score in the first leg (losing to Real Madrid).

Thanks to early goals from Mason Mount and Rudiger, the game finished in a 5-4 aggregate victory over Chelsea. 

On the 66th minute, Alonso scored Chelsea’s third goal of the night, but the VAR team chalked it out due to an infringement seen by the assistant referees. 

According to the panel, Alonso’s goal was overturned because he touched the ball before scoring. 

This is a tough decision because it merely brushed his hands after he had worked so hard to get into that goal-scoring position. However, it is clearly written in football law books. 

CHECK THIS:  5 World Record Transfers Which Did Not Work Out As Expected

Real Madrid advanced to the UEFA Champions League semi-finals after eliminating Chelsea in the quarter-finals. Rodrygo and Timo Werner both scored for their respective clubs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button