Which Premier League Teams Have Never Won The Title?

Manchester United are the most successful English league team, having won the league title 20 times, with City, the current Premier League champions, coming in second.

The domestic English league is one of the oldest in football history, with Preston North End becoming the first ever club to be crowned English league champions in a 12-team competition in 1888, with the Lancashire-based side topping the table with an unbeaten season and finishing 11 points ahead of second-placed Stoke City. 

Manchester United has positioned themselves as the most successful club in terms of domestic league title wins, with the Red Devils having won 20 titles in total, the most recent of which came in the 2012-13 season. 

Liverpool FC is a close second behind Manchester United, with the Anfield club having won the league title 19 times, while Arsenal, based in North London, completes the podium with 13 titles. 

CHECK THIS:  3 Signings Chelsea Could Complete When Transfer Window Officially Opens

Manchester City is the current Premier League champion, and their five titles in the 21st century have coincided with a financial injection from its UAE-based owners. 

Only 7 of the 20 teams competing in the 2022-23 season have never won the top domestic league title in any of its forms. 

West Ham United, Brighton, Southampton, Watford, Norwich City, Crystal Palace, and Brentford are among the teams hoping to emulate Leicester City’s success of breaking the conventional ‘Big 6’ hegemony with their surprise title win in the 2015-16 season.


Tandoh Enoch is a Social Media Manager, Website Developer and Designer, Blogger, Content Writer and an IT Consultant . He is a creator and editor at, an online digital platform focusing on Credible and Timely news in Ghana and worldwide.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button