SPORTS

UCL Final: Why Was Benzema’s Goal Flagged Offside? Rule Explained

Benzema slotted the ball into the net in the Champions League final in the Liverpool box but the Frenchman’s goal was ruled offside.

Karim Benzema looked to have given Real Madrid the lead against Liverpool in the Champions League final before the assistant referee flagged the goal offside.

In the 43rd minute, Benzema slotted the ball into the net after a defensive scramble in the Liverpool box but the Frenchman’s celebrations were cut short when the assistant raised his flag.

Video Assistant Referee (VAR) check took nearly two minutes before the assistant’s decision was upheld amid confusion among many regarding the offside law.

CHECK THIS:  OFFICIAL: Benzema Is The 2021/2022 UCL Player Of The Season

The offside rule states that if the goalkeeper is the second-last opponent and you are behind him, you will be deemed as offside.

However, if there are two players behind the goalkeeper, you will only be offside if you are ahead of the second-last opponent.

 

 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button