Kepa Misses Penalty As Liverpool Beats Chelsea To Win Carabao Cup

Liverpool won the Carabao Cup final on Sunday evening after a nail-biting 120 minutes in which both Liverpool and Chelsea had multiple chances.

Chelsea got off to a brighter start, with Mason Mount hitting the post and missing another wonderful opportunity. 

Jurgen Klopp’s side thought to break the deadlock first when Joel Matip headed in from close range, but the goal was ruled off due to Virgil van Dijk’s offside in the build-up. 

Kai Havertz went in shortly after, but he was offside, albeit the closest call came early in extra time. After seeing every opportunity go begging for 120 minutes, it was almost a foregone conclusion that both teams would be perfect from 12 yards in the shoot-out. 

CHECK THIS:  FIFA Gives Ghana An Option To Host Super Eagles Of Nigeria In Either Morocco or Benin

In the final minute of extra time, Chelsea brought in goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga, but the Spaniard was decisive for all the wrong reasons. 

Every Liverpool outfield player scored from the penalty spot, with Caoimhin Kelleher, 23, stepping up to score before Kepa shot over the bar. 

Liverpool won the Carabao Cup for the first time since 2012, giving Klopp his fifth trophy at the club and his first Carabao Cup. Chelsea, on the other hand, finished as runners-up for the fourth consecutive year, as they did in 2019.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button