8 Football Awards and Trophies Named After Legends In Football History

When a medal or trophy is named after a person, you can be sure they were a tremendously influential and/or important figure in their profession.

Here are eight football trophies and honours that have been named after legends:

  • Lev Yashin

The Yashin Trophy is presented annually by France Football to the best performing goalkeeper.

Rafael “Pichichi” Moreno Aranzadi:

The Pichichi trophy is awarded to the top goalscorer of La Liga.

  • Ferenc Puskas

The FIFA Puskas award is presented to the player deemed to have scored the best goal in world football in each calendar year.

  • Marc-Vivien Foe

The Prix Marc-Vivien Foe is an award presented to the best African player in Ligue 1.

CHECK THIS:  Dortmund sign Swiss goalkeeper Kobel from Stuttgart
  • Sir Matt Busby

The Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year is an award presented to the Manchester United fans’ player of the season.

  • Landon Donovan

The Landon Donovan MLS MVP award is presented to the player deemed the most valuable player in the MLS each season.

  • Ricardo Zamora

The Ricardo Zamora trophy is awarded to a goalkeeper deemed the best La Liga goalkeeper in a season.

  • Telmo Zarra

The Zarra Trophy is awarded to the best Spanish player in a La Liga season.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button