6 Top Countries With The Most Ballon d’Or Wins

The Balon d’Or is the most prestigious individual award, and thus, many footballers from different countries have challenged it since its inauguration in 1956. 

Here are the top six nations with the most Balon d’Or wins.

  • Argentina, 10

Argentina are one of the best football nations in the world. Lionel Messi has dominated the Balon d’Or award alongside Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal for over a decade.

The Paris St Germain forward has won the award seven times, the most by any player in history. With Messi’s help, Argentina is the country with the most Balon D’Or wins. 

Argentina Ballon d’Or: Messi (7), Alfredo Di Stefano (2), Sivori (1).

CHECK THIS:  5 Most Successful Premier League Clubs Based On Number Of Trophies Won In The Past 20 Years
  • Portugal, 7

Ronaldo has helped his country sit joint second in the list of countries with the most Balon D’Or awards. The Man United striker has 5 of his nation’s 7 Balon D’Or wins. 

Portugal Ballon d’Ors: Ronaldo (5), Luis Figo (1), Eusebio (1)

  • Germany, 6

Germany is a great football nation. Their national team is only behind Brazil (5) as the country with the most FIFA world Cup wins with four to their name.

However, the last German player to win the Ballon d’Or was Matthias Sammer back in 1996 playing for Borussia Dortmund.

Germany Ballon d’Or: Sammer (1), Lothar Matthaus (1), Gerd Muller (1), Rummenige (2), Beckenbauer (2).

CHECK THIS:  10 Best Premier League Records That Mohamed Salah Made At Liverpool
  • France, 6

Zinedine Zidane was the last french player to win the Ballon d’Or when he did so in 1998.

France Ballon d’Ors: Zinedine Zidane (1), Raymond Kopa (1), Michel Platini (3), Jeane-Pierre Papin (1).

  • Brazil, 5

Brazilian legend, Kaka is the latest player from his nation to win the Ballon d’Or back in 2007.

Brazil Ballon d’Or: Ronaldo Nozario (2), Ronaldinho (1), Rivaldo (1), Kaka (1).

  • England, 5

Micheal Owen won the Ballon d’Or with Liverpool back in 2001, and therefore, the last England player to win the award.

England Ballon d’Or: Keegan (2), Stanley Matthews (1), Bobby Charlton (1), and Michael Owen (1).

CHECK THIS:  8 Greatest African Footballers Of All Time

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button