5 Top African Footballers Who Have Won Most African Player Of The Year Award

The African player of the year is an award given to the most outstanding African footballer in a calendar year. The award has been won by many African legends even on multiple occasions.

Now, let’s look at these African players who have won the African Player of the Year Award most times.

  • Yaya Toure (4times)

The Ivory coast international is regarded as one of the greatest African stars, he won the African cup of Nations at international level and also won trophies with Barcelona and Manchester City which includes the Champions league, premier league, La Liga etc.

  • Samuel Eto’o (4times)

The former Cameroon international striker is the highest goalscorer in the African cup of Nations, he made his mark in Europe playing for Barcelona, Inter Milan, Chelsea etc. He is the first player to win back to back treble (2009 and 2010). He also won the AFCON.

CHECK THIS:  7 Best Players Who Left Chelsea On A Free Transfer
  • George Weah (3times)

The Liberia president is the first and only African to have won the Balon d’or award. He played for PSG, AC Milan, Monaco and other top European clubs.

  • Abedi Pele(3times)

The former Ghanaian international found his fame in Ligue 1 with Monaco and Marseille, he also won the UEFA champions league in 1993.

  • Didier Drogba (2times)

He was recently inducted into the premier league hall of fame, the former Ivory coast international player won the AFCON, he also helped Chelsea win a lot of trophies including their first ever champions league.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button