3 Men Who Won The FIFA World Cup As A Player And As A Coach

It is no easy task to win the World Cup as a player and a manager but only these three can lay claim to having done that.

1. Mario Zagallo

Zagallo won the World Cup as a player twice with Brazil in 1958 and 1962.

He then managed his country in 1970 where they won the famous trophy.

He holds the record for World Cup titles in general with four titles in total.

He was the first person to win the FIFA World Cup as both a manager and as a player, winning the competition in 1958 and 1962 as a player, in 1970 as manager, and in 1994 as assistant manager.

CHECK THIS:  “It Was Brilliant” - Thomas Tuchel Praises Chelsa Star For Defending Kai Havertz During The Club World Cup Final

2. Franz Beckenbauer

In 1971, he was appointed captain of the West Germany team and led it to victories in the 1972 European Championship as well as the 1974 World Cup.

In 1984, Franz Beckenbauer was appointed manager of the West German team, which became the 1990 World Cup winner.

Beckenbauer was awarded the German Footballer of the Year in 1966, 1968, 1974 and 1976 and the ‘European Player of the Year Award’ in 1972 and 1976.

3. Didier Deschamps

In 2012, Deschamps was named as the new manager of the French national team.

He led the team to victory in the 2018 FIFA World Cup making Deschamps the third man to win the World Cup as both a player and a manager.

CHECK THIS:  7 Clubs That Has Won The Premier League Title Since Its Inception In 1992

As a French international, he was capped on 103 occasions and took part at three UEFA European Football Championships and one FIFA World Cup, captaining his nation to victories in the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2000.



Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button