16 Regions in Ghana And Their Capitals

Do you know the 16 regions in Ghana and their capitals? If you don’t know, this post will assist you in identifying all of the regions in the country as well as their respective capitals.

The president, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo during his campaign in 2016 made a promise. He stated he will create additional regions to the already existing ones. He delivered his promise when he was elected into power in the 2016 general elections.

On December 27, 2018, Ghana held a referendum to create new regions as promised by the president. The voting took place in all forty-seven districts selected to be part of these new regional creations.

This turnout brought about the creation of six more new Regions, which led to the division of some already existing Regions. Six new Regions have been created from the Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern, and Western Regions.

Read More >>>How To Link Your Sim Card To Your Ghana Card

The Volta Region was divided into the Volta and Oti Region. The Ahafo region and Bono East region respectively have been carved out of the then Brong-Ahafo region. The Northern Region was divided into the North East Region and the Savannah Region. Out of the Western Region, the Western North was formed.

We have prepared a list of all the 16 Regions in Ghana And Their Capitals. i hope you will love to know some history of all the regions.

16 regions in Ghana and their capitals


Below is a full list of the 16 regions in Ghana and their capitals:


  1. Northern Region (Tamale)

This was the largest of the sixteen regions, until December 2018, when the Savannah Region and North East Region were created. A total of 14 districts makes up the Northern Region, and Tamale is the regional capital.

CHECK THIS:  Alleged [email protected] Boys Cause Traffic After They Stop In The Middle Of The Road To Throw Money
  1. Ashanti Region (Kumasi)

The Ashanti region is the third-largest of Ghana’s 16 administrative regions, covering 24,389 km2 (9,417 square mi). However, in terms of population, it is the most populous area, accounting for 19.4 percent of Ghana’s total population, with a population of 4,780,380 according to the 2011 census. The Ashanti Region is noted for producing large quantities of gold bars and cocoa. Kumasi is the most populous city and the regional capital.

  1. Western Region (Sekondi)

The Western Region, which stretches from the Ivory Coast (Comoé District) in the west to the Central Region in the east, contains the capital and huge twin city of Sekondi-Takoradi on the coast as coastal Axim and a rugged inland territory comprising Elubo.

It has Cape Three Points, Ghana’s most southern site, where commercial quantities of crude oil were discovered in June 2007. It has 22 districts, and its capital is Sekondi-Takoradi.

  1. Volta Region (Ho)

The Volta Region (or Volta), with Ho as its capital, lies west of the Republic of Togo. The territory, is divided into 25 administrative districts. The Lolo, Likpe, Akpafu, Buem, and Nkonya (now part of the Oti area) are among the Guan peoples. The Oti region was carved out of this region. The Afadjato Mountain can be located in this region.

  1. Eastern Region (Koforidua)

The Eastern Region, is situated in the south of the country. The majority of the people in the Eastern area are Akans, and the main languages spoken are Akan, Krobo and other minor languages. Koforidua is the capital of the Eastern Region. The Akosombo dam can be located in the Eastern Region. The region has some tourist attraction like the Boti falls, Akaa falls among others.

CHECK THIS:  CHRAJ Director calls for establishment of domestic violence fund
  1. Upper West Region (Wa)

The Upper West Region of Ghana lies in the north-western corner of the country, and Wa is the capital town and most populous town in the Upper West. Under the Provisional National Défense Council (PNDC) military dictatorship, the Upper West was founded by then-Head of State, Flight-Lieutenant Jerry Rawlings, in 1983. It was Ghana’s youngest region for approximately 35 years until six more regions in 2018.

  1. Upper East Region (Bolgatanga)

The Upper East Region is located in the north of the country. Bolgatanga, often known as Bolga, is the regional capital for the Upper East. Navrongo, Paga, Bawku, and Zebilla are some of the region’s largest cities.

  1. Central Region (Cape Coast)

The Central region is known for its many prestigious higher education institutions and a thriving economy based on industrial minerals and tourism. Many tourist attractions, including castles, forts, and beaches, can be found along the Central region’s coastline. Cape Coast is the capital of the Central Region.

  1. Bono East Region (Techiman)

Ghana’s Bono East area was created out of the Brong Ahafo Region, and Techiman serves as the new region’s capital.

  1. Greater Accra Region (Accra)

The Greater Accra Region is the smallest of Ghana’s 16 administrative regions. It serves as the national capital of Ghana, and this accounts for 1.4% of Ghana’s total land area. With a population of 5,455,692 in 2021, it is the second most populated region in Ghana, after the Ashanti Region. The capital of the Greater Accra Region is Accra.

  1. Savannah Region (Damango)

The Savannah Region of Ghana is one of its newest regions, yet it is also it’s largest. The new Savannah Region’s capital, Damongo, was established, and it lies in the country’s northwestern region. The Savannah Region is divided into seven districts.

CHECK THIS:  GRIDCo explains cause of Saturday night power outage in Accra
  1. North-East Region (Nareligu)

The North East region is located in the north of the country. The region was established in December 2018 following a referendum to separate it from the Northern region. Nalerigu in the region’s capital.

  1. Oti Region (Dambai)

The Oti Region was established in December 2018 as one of Ghana’s six newly constituted regions. The northern part of the Volta Region was split away to create this region. It is found in the Krachi East district, and its capital is Dambai.

  1. Western North Region (Sefwi Wiawso)

The Western North Region is one of Ghana’s six new regions. In the area, there are various small and large-scale gold mining companies. The Sefwis dominate the region’s ethnic culture, and Sefwi, Akan, French, and English are the primary languages spoken. It has nine districts, and its capital is Wiawso.

  1. Ahafo Region (Goaso)

The Ahafo Region was amongst the new six regions created, and its capital is Goaso. This region was created out of the Brong Ahafo region.

  1. Bono East Region (Techiman)

When the Bono East area and the Ahafo region were founded, the remainder of the Brong-Ahafo region became the Bono region. Sunyani, commonly known as the Green City of Ghana, is the cleanest capital city and a prominent conference site.

Hope you love our publication on the 16 regions in Ghana and their capitals? Share it with friends to help build our brand. Don’t forget to leave your questions in the comment section below.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button